The Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences was founded with the establishment of the Ruhuna University Collage affiliated to the University of Colombo. On obtaining a fully-fledged university status, the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences started operating as an independent body. Now it is a well-established faculty offering Bachelors, Masters and Doctoral Degrees in a wide spectrum of disciplines of diverse character.

The Humanities and Social Sciences is the largest faculty of the university having approximately a student body of 3000 undergraduates and an annual intake of over 500 students. The faculty offers over 400 course modules in 12 diversified disciplines through the six departments operating under its aegis.

The Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences grooms the students for a professional and disciplined life by providing them with a broad understanding of the traditions that operate in a wide range of humanistic and social science disciplines; by achieving in them an ability to apply the subject knowledge they gather in class and field to solving problems and carrying out tasks in the contemporary world; and by improving their capacity for independent and critical thinking, logical analysis, effective communication, and well-informed participation in teamwork. Hence, the Bachelor of Arts degree programme constitutes classroom work, field trips, and independent readings and writings with hands-on research, and project work.

The faculty has instituted a Information Technology Unit to enhance the students skills in information and communication technology as focused on the potential needs of the job market. Moreover, it has planned two special programmes to advance the information technology awareness and English language proficiency of the undergraduates under the IRQUE (Improving Relevance and Quality of Undergraduate Education) project funded by the World Bank. A Cultural Centre has been established to carry on all types of cultural activities. The Centre for Modern Languages and Civilization is to make sure that the students have opportunities to acquire language abilities well beyond their mother tongue.

The faculty is composed of six Departments as follows:

Department of Economics

Department of History

Department of Geography

Department of Pali and Buddhist Studies

Department of Sinhala

Department of Sociology


I am very pleased to send this message to the website designed to guide the students who intend studying in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. The Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences of the University of Ruhuna is the largest faculty in terms of student population and staff. It is one of the four faculties which were established when the University of Ruhuna was founded as a university college in 1978. Currently, there are six academic departments in the faculty which offer subjects related to eleven disciplines. The numbers of students, the academic staff, and also the variety of subjects taught in the faculty have increased significantly during its short history. The faculty always conceives education as a positive force that builds a strong foundation for good citizenship, mutual respect, democratic values and tolerance of diverse opinions.

The faculty offers degree courses in Bachelor of Arts, Master of Arts, Master of Philosophy and Doctor of Philosophy. In addition, it conducts postgraduate Diploma courses in a range of fields that contribute to the socio-economic development of the country. While conducting academic programmes at Departmental level, a number of courses are also taught by the English Language Teaching Unit, the Information Technology Unit, the Cultural Center, and the Resource Center for Modern Languages, the Conflict Study Center, the Career Guidance Unit and the Distance and Continues Education Unit.

With the broadening of horizons in the academic and research fields, the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences has been able to attract both local and international students to follow the degree courses that it offers. Currently, two Masters Degree courses are being conducted in collaboration with Tribhuvan University in Nepal, University of Life Sciences, and Agder University in Norway.

I firmly believe that the University of Ruhuna as well as the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences will soon become a center of excellence having a greater capacity to contribute to national development that is currently taking place in the Southern Province of Sri Lanka. I am sure that the students of the faculty will become one of the driving forces in changing the current situation in the region and also in the country.

Professor S Wawwage
Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences
University of Ruhuna
Matara, Sri Lanka

Enquiries : Web Team - Faculty of H&SS